A Sad Reality

I have wanted to post for quite some time but haven’t been able to muster the courage….

This winter, I have had to face the fact that my lungs can no longer tolerate the dust and winter cold that comes with maintaining a flock in Minnesota.  When we moved to the farm, I knew that my history of pneumonia and lung issues would most likely have an impact on what I could or could not tolerate.  So now, it’s come to that point.

This will be our last lambing season and by the end of pasture season (October?) we will have sold MOST of the flock.  We will keep a handful of sheep and the llamas.  Trophy Husband insists.  I’m not so sure because that will place the burden of winter chores upon him, but we have a few thoughts on different ways to feed a small flock so there is less time spent, thereby decreasing exposure to the dust and cold.

Sheep For Sale

We will have Finnsheep and a Shetland ewe or two for sale.  I want to see what the lamb crop looks like this year before making the final decision.  Our lovely gray yearling ram, Stillmeadow Toivo, already has a new home at Little Red Oak Farm with Gail.  Our moorit Finn ram, Little Red Oak Eino (three years old) will need to find a new home.

I have a moorit Shetland Bonnie who has been exposed to Eino.  I would be willing to sell her now.  She is almost two years old.  This will be her first breeding.

We also have three 3/4 Bluefaced Leicester ewe lambs (one black and two white) who are for sale or will be going to the butcher within a few weeks.  They are beautiful, sweet girls with lovely fiber.

We have a small black, two year old Shetland with lovely Ag gray fiber.  She has not been bred.

I have not updated the Sale Site yet.  If you have an interest in any of our sheep please leave a comment and I will get back to you.

 

 

 

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Amanda on 02/15/2011 at 8:59 PM

    Whaaaaat?

    I’m so sorry, Mom. 😦

    Like

    Reply

  2. Oh no, Terri. This is very sad!

    Like

    Reply

  3. I hope you find good homes for your sheepjes! Take care…..Jody

    Like

    Reply

  4. Beechtree Dougal says, “Hi Mom! All is well at Chengwatana Farm, but due to a colossal goof-up I was unable to demonstrate just how amazing I am as a ram. It turns out that 10 of the 16 wives entrusted to me this past fall were already bred before they came here! They are dropping little black lambs, left and right, and I know they are not my progeny. Oh well, the remaining ewes are due in 7 weeks, and I’m sure those lambs will be extremely beautiful.

    I am having fun here — I have a buddy named Aaron. He is a Black Welsh Mountain sheep like all the rest. My beautiful blue face and grey locks really add interest to this flock, I can tell you.

    You are always welcome here, and I would love it if you could come and visit. My mistress has a guest bedroom, and although I’ve never seen it I’m sure it’s quite nice. I think she is also planning to come to Lake Elmo on Mothers’ Day weekend.

    Take care, and do stay in touch! Love, Dougie.”

    Like

    Reply

    • Oh, Dougal…I DO miss your sweet Roman nose and purly locks! Thank you for the nice note and invite. I am happy that you have a great mom and a nice new home. I can’t wait to see your lambs!!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

