Formaldehyde in your fabrics

I have been thinking about learning to weave fabric.   Now, I have more motivation than ever!  Curious?  Click on the link below to find out more.

Formaldehyde in your fabrics.

 

Do you think I can learn to weave bed linens – today – before I go to sleep?

3 responses to this post.

  1. Terri, this is no surprise to me. I used to work with interior designers, sewing their custom window treatments ……the bolts of fabrics had all kinds of “finishes” applied to make them more desireable to the industry. I also remember going into a newly opened fabric store in one of our malls back in the 1980’s too – the chemical treatments were so strong that my eyes watered and I had to leave.
    To this day my preference is for plain white cotton sheets and pure wool blankets. I am presently spinning fleece from two of my favorite Finn ewes which I plan to weave into a blanket. However, spinning cotton is not on my list.
    More time in the day would be helpful.

    Like

    Reply

  2. I got a chuckle at the thought of you weaving up some sheets before bed. 🙂
    This issue seems to be getting a lot of press lately; I just saw someone talking about it on TV yesterday too. Here’s a link to a 2010 Congressional report on it:
    http://www.gao.gov/new.items/d10875.pdf
    You may have a higher exposure than most of us due to your occupation in the medical field, so better hurry up and start weaving! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Ann W (Annabelle's friend) on 01/05/2011 at 9:44 PM

    Hello Terri! That was a very interesting article–and I wonder if that explains the rash and sores I get from the socks I wear. They are wool and some synthetic fabric. I would like to find plain wool socks. I hope you and everyone at the farm are doing well!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

