Bad Boys, Bad Boys! (What ya gonna do?)

It’s jail for our Bad Boys!  I guess I should say they are just doing what nature intended…  My plan was to remove the ram lambs in a few more weeks but a few of our ram lambs have different ideas.  The new Finn ram lamb was lovin’ up every ewe in the barnyard.  They just ran away from him but I don’t want to take any chances.  So I put him in a pen with BFL – NC Cheviot cross Tank who was also friendly with the girls.  I will get them set up on their own pasture.

I have decided to name our new ram Toivo, which means “hope.”  I have big dreams for this Finn ram so the name is fitting.  Also, coming from northern Minnesota and being Finnish myself, I grew up with the name – even if it was used a lot in jokes!

While The Shepherdess (Cop) was throwing the boys in the brink, I noticed this pumpkin plant growing along the fence line.  I wonder how long the sheep will let this grow?  It must have planted itself from a pumpkin I fed the sheep last winter!

This photo is of our newest Finn ewe lamb from Gale Woods Farm.  I have decided to call her Saara.  She is a calm, friendly, very feminine lamb who is white with light brownish gray legs and white boots on her rear legs.  She is a twin but her sibling died at birth; consequently, she got all the milk so she is a very good size – she must weigh at least 50 lbs.  I need to get a larger sling to weigh the lambs as they get larger.

Saara’s fleece is white to the roots.  Her legs are both brown and gray; she has brown and black in her background so time will tell what her base genetics are.

Leave a Reply

