“Where Did I Put the Ear Plugs?!”

Shetland lambs Curly and Phyllis. Curly is yelling for mom!

It’s that time of year when the blissfully peaceful country existence is set aside.  I know it’s coming.  I put it off as long as I can until it can’t be put off any longer.

Weaning.  Let the cries begin.


A 3/4 BFL 1/4 Shetland ewe lamb cries for her mom.

We left the lambs with the llamas and moved the ewes to the another pasture.  To help decrease the lambs’ stress, I gated the door from the llamas and opened a pen so the lambs can be close to mom.  However, instead of laying next to each other along the fenceline, they tend to stand apart and scream. Yes, sheep can scream…

Blue observes the barnyard chaos.

It’s amazing how much a lamb “baah” sounds like MAAAAAH!  Where are you maaahh??  Why aren’t you near me, Maaaahh?!  The ewes baah while they eat, looking for their lambs.  I have one lamb who sounds exactly like my daughter did as a teen.  Maaaahh!?  Sorry, Amanda but you know what I am talking about.  🙂

The llamas are always agitated when we work with the sheep. They like peace on the farm also!

It’s hot outside so the air conditioning is on and the windows closed.  We will be able to sleep without the noise.   In a few days, peace will again return to the farm for a short time.  A few cries will arise when lambs and ewes are picked up by their new shepherds.  New adventures await on different pastures.  Such is the cycle of a lamb’s life.

Rams Bluefaced Leicester Dougal (L) and Finnsheep Eino

The rams continued to graze as if nothing was new.  They are just biding their time until fall – breeding season!

5 responses to this post.

  1. Ah yes, great post Terri. I’m not ready to wean our lambs yet, but this morning I picked up three of our Ile de France sired market lambs, they are only 9-10 weeks old and weaning is taking place the hard way for them. Maybe if I put them in with my flock they would quiet down, but they are in quarantine. We’ll pick up the other three in a couple weeks and get to go through is again! I’ll probably do our own lambs at that time too.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Enduring that here, also. LOVE that photo of Nessa!

    Like

    Reply

    • I don’t know when the screaming will end… Poor Phyllis and Curly are hoarse from all the baahing! I think the llamas are sooo photogenic. I just looked at the photo again and realized it is Blue, not Nessa! They are half-sisters and look very similar. Blue has more white around her eyes. Thank’s Michelle!

      Like

      Reply

  3. Mom, I was already thinking in the second paragraph about how I’d stand at the bottom of the stairs to your bedroom and wail., “MAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHH!”

    So I’m not offended. In fact, I’m rather delighted by the comparison since I know how much you adore the sheep. And me.

    Who took the photo of Blue? It’s FANTASTIC.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

