A Visit to Finn Land

It has been raining non-stop since the beginning of June.  I’m trying not to complain… we need the rain… but the barnyard is saturated, mushrooms are sprouting, and the gray is depressing.  So I was happy to spend a bit of time away from the farm.  And what did I do on the day spent away from the farm?  Go shopping at the Mall of America?  Get a relaxing massage and pedicure at the spa?  Um, no.  I did what any crazed shepherdess would do – I visited another farm.  Oh dear, I just realized that I visited two farms!

Gail Von Bargen emailed last week to let me know she and a fiber friend, Candy, were going to Gale Woods Farm to look at the 2010 crop of  Finnsheep lambs.  Did I want to meet up with them?  You betcha, I wanted to go!  I had already decided to purchase two to three more Finn ewe lambs this year for our flock.  I wanted to see Gale Woods’ lambs and I’ve picked out two from Gail’s lamb crop so this would give me the chance to see them also.

It was raining as I drove but I still enjoyed listening to several episodes of Craftlit.  I met up with Gail and Candy at Detta’s Spindle where Candy was buying a spinning wheel.  I had never met Detta or been to her store before so that was a nice treat.  Then we had lunch and went to Gale Woods Farm.  Farm Manager Tim Reese has a mixed flock of Clun Forest and Finnsheep, with some Border Leicester and Icelandic mixed in.  Within a few moments of entering the pasture, Gail and I set our eyes upon a lovely ewe lamb who looked like she may have modified or Ag genetics.  (Forgive me, but I am still learning the genetics.)

2010 Finn ewe lamb at Gale Woods Farm.

Tim said they considered her gray due to her leg coloring at birth.  Gray?  She looks white, yet not white…  Gray in Finns ranges from nearly white to a dark, steely gray.  She has good confirmation, a sweet personality, and her fiber looked lovely.  Her spotted face appears “washed out” or diluted.  Gail and I pondered if she could be Ag?  Modified? Gail is much further along in a comprehension of genetics than I; but we agreed that this lamb looked to have whatever genes are at work in Finns that lightens the fleece.  Time will tell.  I placed a deposit to hold the ewe lamb.

Look at her precious face!  I will bring her home when I pick up the other two lambs from Gail.  You can click on any photo to “biggify.”

Little Red Oak Finn ram lamb (L) and Finn ewe lamb Leila (R)

We ended the day back at Gail’s farm which was full of bouncing Shetland and Finn lambs.  These brown Finns are brother (spotty) and sister.  I will bring home the ewe on the right.  Her fleece is very, very dense and curly and she likes chin scratches.

2010 Little Red Oak Finn ewe lamb

And finally, here is a photo of Kimi’s ewe lamb.  Gail’s daughter Emily is holding her.  Her dam Kimi can be seen on the right.  Her fleece became gray before she reached one year old.  This ewe lamb has silky soft fiber with very little crimp at this time.  It will be interesting to see how her fiber grows in.  She has HST spots and maybe, maybe will give us some gray??

4 responses to this post.

  1. Wow, you really did a lot in one day! Going to Detta’s usually entails hours for me. Congrats on all selecting all your new Finn ewe lambs. The color genetics are so interesting.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Posted by Gail Von Bargen on 06/17/2010 at 12:42 AM

    teehee hee,
    fun to see a recap of the day I lived, too!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Candy T on 06/19/2010 at 10:04 AM

    It was great to meet you Terri. I had a wonderful day. Unfortuneately I couldn’t talk Hubby into the little ewe #58. So again, I will have to live life as a shepherdess though Gail and you.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

