Wool (via O ECOTEXTILES)

Life has been busy (as usual) on the farm. Spring is a time for barn clean-up, lambing, vaccinations, mending fences, planting a garden, and tree planting. Actually, the list goes on and on. A few days ago, I washed Eino’s brown Finn fleece (ooh-la-la!) and set it to dry. I often am asked how I wash my fleeces. I decided to document the steps with my camera and I will post the photos in a few days.

Today, I wanted to link you to a blog which is a fascinating glimpse into the world of textiles. To quote from their blog, the two sisters of O Ecotextiles “… began a world-wide search for manufacturing partners interested in a cradle-to-cradle process of creating no-impact, perfectly safe, incredibly luxurious fabrics.” I read four of the posts and took away the feeling that our textile choices can have a disastrous effect on the environment.

As people drawn to wool, readers of this blog have an innate interest and love for all things fiber. We creatively use it – spinning, weaving, felting, knitting, hooking – even growing our own! In my effort to make each of my actions more environmentally safe, I now realize that I need to ensure that my wool washing techniques are eco-safe.

Following is the post from OEcotextiles.  Enjoy!

Wool When we talk about wool, we almost always mean the fiber from sheep, although the term “wool” can be applied to the hair of other mammals including cashmere and mohair from goats, vicuna, alpaca and camel from animals in the camel family and angora from rabbits. As with many discoveries of early man, anthropologists believe the use of wool came out of the challenge to survive – Neolithic man used pelts from animals to keep warm. Sheep (Ovis aries … Read More

via O ECOTEXTILES

2 responses to this post.

  1. After checking the link I have to point out that no one I know dips their sheep in pesticides. Do you know anyone who dips their sheep these days?

    Like

    Reply

    • I don’t know of anyone who locally dips sheep either. It seems to me that the article refers to the larger wool producers worldwide. I did a quick google search on “sheep dipping regulations” and found regulations and pamphlets from 2001, 2004, and 2007 specifying how to properly dip and handle the chemicals. These were in the UK, Ireland, and New Zealand. I also saw a governmental article on remediation of sheep dipping sites in New Zealand.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

