More Lambs! Yeah!

Three More Lambs

On Sunday, our black Mulesheep (Shetland X Bluefaced Leicester) birthed beautiful twin lambs, one black and one white!  I arrived home from work to find her cleaning off the black lamb.  The white lamb was already fairly dry and nursing from mom.  I quickly checked the sex of each – EWES! Yeah! – then picked up the black lamb and led Maliah and her white lamb into the lambing jug.  I could tell that milk was flowing from both of mom’s teats from the milk mustache on each lamb.

I snipped and dipped the lamb’s navels and gave them each a squirt of Nutri Drench. I then gave Maliah hay, filled the water bucket and gave it a few good glugs of molasses.  The white lamb weighed 7 lb. 1 oz., the black weighed 6 lb. 14 oz.  The white lamb has a black spot on her rear right leg.  They both have tight curled, purly, BFL type fiber.  They are 3/4 Bluefaced Leicester 1/4 Shetland so that is exactly what I was hoping for!  I didn’t get a great photo of the black lamb so I will post a photo later.  Her fiber looks very similar to her twin’s.

2010 Twin ewe lamb, 3/4 BFL 1/4 Shetland

2010 Twin ewe lamb 3/4 BFL 1/4 Shetland

Monday Morning

2010 Mulesheep (Shetland X BFL) ram lamb

I woke up this morning to find that first-time Shetland mom Lulu had a white Mulesheep ram lamb at her side.  He also has fantastic fiber.  Yeah, again!  I got them into the jug and snipped, dipped, stripped and watched the lamb sip.  Lulu had one side of her udder which was more filled out than the other and the second udder took more stripping to begin flowing.  The lamb had been drinking out of the other side.  I will watch her udder closely.  This lovely boy has a few facial spots and a quarter-sized black spot on his right hip.  He was a mellow boy in the sling and weighed in at 10 lbs.

The Jugs are Full

We have three lambing jugs.

In this photo, you can see our three lambing jugs look more like a jail.  We had to install a hog panel across the top of the jugs for “crowd control.”  The panel is hinged and can be attached to the ceiling.  Those darn llamas love nothing more than stealing the ewe’s good hay!  It doesn’t seem to bother the ewes but I feel a bit sad for them.  The Shepherd made the panels all removable so the small barn has more space when we are finished lambing.  In a few weeks, we will set up a creep feeding area for the lambs.  We haven’t done that before so I’m sure we will have a few new challenges working on that!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations on the two 3/4 BFL ewe lambs. Their fleece will be so nice! I’m still kicking myself for selling my two 3/4 BFL ewe lambs last December.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

