Minnesota Grown Fiber Friends

Minnesota Grown Friends

I have decided to join Minnesota Grown, which is an organization that helps to promote locally grown Minnesota produce and products.  As I was looking at the site, I was delighted to stumble across this video clip of a shepherd friend.

Sherry Stirling, of Grazeland Farm in Lindstrom, MN, has been involved in Minnesota Lamb and Wool Producers (MLWP) for a number of years.   Sherry was one of the first “sheep” people I met when I took a Beginning Shepherd class given by MLWP at Shepherd’s Harvest a few years ago.   She and her husband live on a farm that is just a few miles away, as the crow flies.   They have been helpful and kind to the newbie Shepherds at Roundabout Acres, offering advice and even help, if needed, during lambing.  Sherry and her flock were recently featured on a local television program.

If you’d like to watch the clip – complete with woolly sheep – click here.

Newbie Spinner

A few months ago, I answered an email from a local gal who was looking for fiber.  She had bought her first – yes, I said first – wheel and was anxious to get started with spinning.  I brought over some lovely, soft, white Shetland and my wheel.  After a Fiber 101 lesson, we chatted and spun yarn for several hours.  She had received a beginner lesson from another local spinner; I gave Patty her second spinning lesson and the rest is history…  I knew another spinner had joined the flock.  A few weeks after that, she bought another wheel and fiber from Craigslist and has been spinning like crazy ever since.  It’s nice to have a new fiber friend who lives nearby and is so passionate about the sheep! Welcome to the world of fiber, Patty!

Patty proudly shows off her first handspun fiber.

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Patti Jirovec on 02/11/2010 at 4:15 PM

    Terri, you are a treasure. The spinning is a sanity saver for me. It’s meditative, constructive, and so tactile! I’m looking forward to learning the whole process…. from shearing, to skirting, to carding, to dyeing, … all of it! Yeah… I’m hooked. 🙂

    And Thursday nights, starting this week… from 530p to 800p, I’m starting an “open knitting/crocheting/spinning night”… at the Shop. Anyone is welcome… Just going to hang out and let the creative side out to play.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Sounds like a good name for a farm. Our CSA is through “Graceland Farm.” 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Margaret on 03/02/2010 at 5:07 PM

    Thought you’d like to know someone already has found your site through MN Grown! 🙂 I’m already checking out the Shepherds Harvest Festival classes being offered @ the Washington Co. fairgrounds in May. I’ve been wanting to start out as a beginner, too, but haven’t found the expertise yet — nice to meet you!

    Like

    Reply

    • Thanks for the note Margaret! The classes at SH are very good – you should think about taking one! Llama Magic is on the fairgrounds the same weekend. I may have a booth there and teach a class also! Stay tuned for details.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

