What do llamas think when they see a hot air balloon?

Yesterday I pulled back the drapes to open the door while letting the dogs outside.  I was surprised by what I saw.  It’s not every day that I open the door to discover a very large balloon.  In fact, I have never had a balloon hanging over my house, have you?

Hot air balloon floating over our house.

I threw on my boots, hat and jacket, and grabbed my Nikon DSLR as I ran outside.  I didn’t want to let this photo opportunity pass by!  The balloons were in town for the Center City Winter Festival.  We usually can’t attend because of work.  It’s too bad because we enjoy watching the snowmobile and ATV races on frozen Center Lake as well as turkey bowling, sled dog rides, chili cook-off, hay and helicopter rides, etc.  We went the first year we lived here; it was about -20F., windy and frigid!  My brother, his wife and boys went with us and we had a blast!  Unfortunately, that year the balloons could not launch due to inclement weather.  This year, the conditions were great for ballooning; although it was very cold, the skies were clear with a light breeze blowing in the right direction to bring them over us.

Here come the balloons! You can't see them but the chase cars are idling on the road to the right.

A beautiful balloon in the distance.

The flock was a bit confused by the silent beasts in the sky.

Balloons float over the east pasture.

The camera battery died after a number of photos; as a result, I didn’t get shots of all the balloons.  But that was okay.  I enjoyed the show from a vantage point right outside the barnyard.  I stood quietly next to the llamas and sheep while we all watched the stealthy, colorful beasts of the air.  The balloons silently floated away to the north, leaving no trace  of their passing.  I wonder if the llamas will retain this memory?  For me, I will always keep a joyful memory in my heart of brightly colored balloons on a cold, cold winter day.

6 responses to this post.

  1. its great watching hot air balloons, they’re so graceful.
    well captured

    Like

    Reply

  2. Wow, how cool is that???

    Like

    Reply

  3. Posted by Mom on 02/01/2010 at 10:30 AM

    Colorful ballons. I should have gone to festivities. Really enjoyed it last year with Cyd.

    Like

    Reply

  4. OK, the llama (with a head) on the far right–HA HA HA!

    Like

    Reply

  5. Cool Terri! I love hot air balloons they are so beautiful. When I lived at home in Hamel there used to be days when bunches of them would get together and fill the sky like that. Very memorable, but quiet and peaceful at the same time.
    I doubt the llamas will remember it unless the balloonists dropped grain from their baskets. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

