Let It Snow…

We have had much snow in Minnesota the last few weeks.  While the Shepherds spent our Christmas week slogging through the snow and ice to and from work, the flock was peacefully lounging in the barnyard.  On Christmas morning, the Shepherd presented me a new point and shoot camera that I can always keep in the pocket for spontaneous “sheep shots.”  To end out the year, I thought I would take photos of them enjoying their snow days.

Just click on any photo to enlarge.   I also tried a new format for the picture layout.  Let me know what you think!

3 responses to this post.

  1. Those crabby llama faces don’t look “peaceful” to me! Your trio of Finns are so pretty….

    Like

    Reply

  2. I had to go back and look again at the llama faces, they don’t look crabby to me, but maybe a little sad with their ears down like that. In contrast, the Cheviot crosses are so cute! I also love the fleeces on the Finns. I’m sure Eino will have done the trick with his ewes.
    I’m not crazy about the small photos that I have to click on though…the old eyes aren’t as good as they once were, so I had to click on EVERY photo.

    Like

    Reply

    • Michelle and Becky – I suppose I am used to the different faces that a llama can make and these are not so bad. Mina is the llama on the right. She always looks cranky! She is our Miss Piggy llama who is quick to spit away the other animals to keep her favorite spot at the hay rack. When we first adopted her, we thought she may was a garden variety PBL (plain brown llama.) Over time, she warmed up to us and has become very protective of the sheep (unless they are in her favorite spot.) And she has one of the top three llama fleeces we have – abundant and silky soft. Also, I think the llama on the left was yawning. And our cria Primo is in the middle but his head is turned away.

      As far as the sheep, our Cheviot crosses are more mellow than the Shetland crosses. We will see if that is true for this year’s lambs also. And I am waiting for lambing time with the Finns … but I really like these sheep!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

