Meet Roundabout Acres Costello

2009 Costello soft, soft fleece

2009 Costello soft, soft fleece

Costello face/horns March 2009

Costello face/horns March 2009

Roundabout Acres Costello was used this year for breeding our Shetland lambs.  I put the Shetland group together late so we still have one ewe yet to deliver.  (YIKES!  This is too late…I will never do that again!)  So far he has thrown spots, spots, spots.  He is an Ag, musket, bersugget smaller framed ram with a very pleasant, respectful personality.  His fleece is soft and lovely.  He wool was easily rooed (hand plucked) and very clean.  I am considering if I should sell him this year or use him again next.  I will wait until lamb evaluation is done at the end of the summer.

I snapped these photos when Costello was checking out his new lambs.  I thought he was looking different but I couldn’t figure what it was.  I saw the difference when I was looking through photos.  Do you see it?

Are those my lambs?

Are those my lambs?

Costello's face from the side.  His big boy horn sheath is growing in.

Costello's face from the side. His big boy horn sheath is growing in.

Costello  in winter 2009

Costello in winter 2009. His horn sheaths are just starting to grow.

Costello's fleece

Costello's fleece

Costello being rooed, March 2009.  He decided to drop to his knees when he had enough!

Costello being rooed, March 2009. He decided to drop to his knees when he had enough!

Costello 2009 hand rooed fleece

Costello 2009 hand rooed fleece

3 responses to this post.

  1. Such a pretty boy! Aren’t those hand plucked fleeces wonderful? I roo’ed Zaria and it’s just exquisite. It comes off SO much cleaner too…

    Like

    Reply

  2. Wow, he sure has had some dramatic facial changes this spring! So now we KNOW he’s Ag for sure. His fleece looks SO nice!

    Like

    Reply

  3. How interesting! I’ve never seen that dramatic “bump” in horn growth before!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

